Events

GCGSI Calendar of Events

All GCGSI activities are subject to change. Please check your email and our Facebook page for updates.

Due to the lack of availability of GCGSI volunteers to assist patrons with genealogical research at the Gilmer County Library on Fridays, we are suspending the Research Fridays program at this time.  If you need assistance in researching your family tree, we ask that you email us at [email protected]  with the details needed in your research.  If you prefer to receive help in person in the Family Research Center at the library, you may make an appointment by either emailing us or sending us a message via Facebook.  Please provide contact information, details of your research needs, and a couple of preferred date(s) and time(s.)  We will be in touch to set up an appointment.  Thank you for your understanding in this matter.

December 2022

Thursday, December 8 – Holiday Open House & Festival of Trees

Gilmer County Library – 5:30-7:00 pm.

THIS EVENT WAS CANCELED.

Saturday, December 10 – GCGSI Monthly Meeting

Gilmer County Library – 12:00 noon

Holiday Gathering and Installation of Officers

Bring your favorite side dish or dessert to share. GCGSI will provide protein/meat, beverages, and paper products. Also, if possible bring items to donate to the Gilmer Food Pantry or Homeward Bound Pet Rescue.

THIS EVENT WAS CANCELED.

Wednesday, December 21 – Winter Solstice

Sunday, December 25 – Merry Christmas!

January 2023

Sunday, January 1 – Happy New Year!

Monday. January 16 – Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

Saturday, January 21 – GCGSI Monthly Meeting

Gilmer County Library – 2:00 p.m.

Speaker: Laura McClure Thomas, entrepreneur

The McClure Family of Gilmer County

February 2023

Thursday, February 2 – Groundhog Day

Tuesday, February 14 – Happy Valentine’s Day!

Saturday, February 18 – GCGSI Monthly Meeting

Gilmer County Library – 2:00 p.m.

Speaker – Dennis Stewart, author

The Hills of Mountaintown

Monday, February 20 – President’s Day